The greatest mistake


WRONG KIND OF WORSHIP 

And when the people saw what Paul had done, they lifted up their voices, saying in the speech of Lycaonia, The gods are come down to us in the likeness of men. And they called Barnabas, Jupiter; and Paul, Mercurius, because he was the chief speaker., Then the priest of Jupiter, which was before their city, brought oxen and garlands unto the gates, and would have done sacrifice with the people.” Acts 14:11-13.



Human beings by nature are created to worship. The vacuum cannot be filled by another thing or another activity. Hence, worshiping has become the part and parcel of our lifestyle. The devil knows this and ceases that opportunity to exploit man and give a distorted perspective to whom people should worship.



Many worship in the firmament, cosmos and the things in them. Others worship ancestors, past and present saints, either holy or unholy angels, while many youths worship celebrities because of their so-called outstanding achievements.



In my research many years ago, I discovered that a particular nation had more than three hundred million idols the citizens worship. What an aberration. Could all these gods be able to save their worshippers? You can read this in my book “What to know about God, Christ and Religion.”

The challenge is not in worshiping, rather, it is in whom we worship. If one is not well informed, there is a tendency to run into errors of superstition.

Superstition can cause people to worship negatively. In a crave to worship, people could be influenced, misdirected and misguided by friends, neighbours and tradition.

The Athens was a classical example. “Then Paul stood in the midst of Mars’ hill, and said, Ye men of Athens, I perceive that in all things ye are too superstitious. For as I passed by, and beheld your devotions, I found an altar with this inscription,,, TO THE UNKNOWN GOD. Whom therefore ye ignorantly worship, him declare I unto you.” Acts 17:22-23.

Ignorance and pressure are no excuses to leave the living God to worship the creation.

In our major text in Jeremiah 8:2, these people left the Almighty and began to worship the sun, and the moon, and all the host of heaven. This brought the wrath of God upon them wholly.

For those of us who achieved some things people think are extraordinary, we must be careful lest we take the glory meant to the Giver of such divine success. If Herod has another opportunity to come to the planet Earth, though it is not possible, he would reject such praises and worship. Acts 12:21-23. Margot ate him alive.



In either way, never incur the wrath of God on yourself or others. When a challenge to digress in worshipping comes calling, may you and I say like the Lord Jesus Christ   “Thou shalt worship the Lord thy God, and him only shalt thou serve?” Matthew 4:10.

What is it we are looking for that is not in God, which makes us want to worship the creation rather than the CREATOR? “And he is before all things, and by him all things consist.” Colossians 1:17.

Whatever God cannot give or has not given to me when I asked Him in prayers, it is either I don’t need it, or it is not yet time for me to have it or it is not mine or it could endanger my life if I should have it or jeopardize the lives of my loved ones.

He loves me so much that when I abide in His will, many things I never requested, He gave them to me. How much more when I place my request before Him?

Prayer:

Father, by Your grace, I will not worship any other and I shall never be worshipped in Jesus’ name.
When the down is cast, may I stand for you only in Jesus’ name?
Destroy every seed of hero worship in my system in Jesus’ name.

Ebenezer Bayo Abraham
Ibadan, Nige

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑